Skip to main content

Birkenhead & Wirral

Crown Green Bowling League
Fixtures / Results
Starred Players
Constitution and Rules
Fixtures / Results
Starred Players
Ben Webster Memorial Shield
Constitution and Rules
Contact Us
Wirral Bowls Diary

LAST UPDATE: Tuesday, 22 July 2014



Tixall ‘B’ were rarely troubled as the claimed the Cartwright Cup following victory over Albany on a sunny evening at Upton Victory Hall.  They cleared the 24-handicap start they had to give their Division Two opponents in the first four blocks to lead by 2 with Peter Hughes dominant, handing in a fine 21-9 card.  Three more winners in the middle four, including a 21-4 from Dave Williams, saw them increase their advantage to 33 and the match was put beyond Albany when Tony ‘Top Cat’ Collier came from 5-8 down to win 21-9.  Albany won two of the final four blocks with Martin Small running out on John Rogers from 12-19 and Paul Lewis defeating the new Birkenhead Parks champion, Robert Rogers, 21-12 finishing with a 7-break.  Final score – Albany (24) 201, Tixall ‘B’ (scr) 224.

Ian Sharp 15 v 21 Ray Evans

Alan Battle 09 v 21 Peter Hughes

Alan Develing 14 v 21Paul Williams

Dave Roberts 20 v 21 Brian Somerville

Tony Whitty 21 v 15 Andy Halsey

Dave Hulmston 10 v 21 Keith Wharton

John Gomersall Snr 04 v 21 Dave Williams

Fred Beacall 12 v 21 Mike Halsey

Dave Thomas 21 v 10 Trevor Plant

Martin Small 21 v 19 John Rogers

Gerry Faulkner 09 v 21 Tony Collier

Paul Lewis 21 v 12 Robert Rogers

Heswall RBL are this year’s Cec Hannay Rose Bowl champions after a 15 shot victory over Gladstone in the final played at Manor Road.  With three winners in the first four, Heswall added to their 12-handicap start to open up a 23 shot advantage but this was reduced to 9 after tremendous wins for Brian Hanlon (21-5) and Chris Motley (21-8) in the middle four.  However, Heswall finished the way they started with three winners in the back four to clinch victory and add to their 2010 triumph.  Final score Gladstone (scr) 211 v Heswall RBL(12) 226



The draw, venues and handicaps for the Quarter-Finals of The Shield and Centenary Cup are now online.

Gerry Riley kept the Ben Webster Memorial Shield in the Higher Tranmere Vets trophy cabinet thanks to a 21-17 victory over ‘C’ team colleague, Dave Bayne. Full details on the Ben Webster link opposite.



Amended Sunday 20 July edition now updated.

I have added a new link for the Wirral Bowls Diary which will list details of all Wirral finals and competitions being played over a fortnightly basis.  A second page will give any brief news from our local leagues and associations.

The diary will be updated each Sunday evening.



Please be reminded that if your match is postponed, or abandoned, notification must be received by the League Secretary within 24 hours of the date of the scheduled match.



Team captains are reminded that team names, all scores and total aggregates must be included when completing match sheets.  Any shortfall of players must be recorded as ABSENT (no fines are imposed for absent players) and all match sheets must be received within 3 days of the completion of a match. If posting, please ensure the correct postage is used on the envelope – for standard 1st/2nd class post an envelope can be no bigger than C5 which has a dimension of 240mm x 165mm.  An envelope can be no thicker than 5mm and weigh no more than 100g which shouldn’t affect the return of match sheets.



Please be aware that the use of electronic cigarettes is not allowed whilst participating on the green in a game of crown green bowls. Electronic cigarettes are interpreted by the British Crown Green Bowling Association as smoking on the green and as such are banned.  



In 2014 we will be using the Crown Green Bowls Results Service to record our resultsThis is an excellent system which updates results, match cards, league tables and averages as they are entered.  The Afternoon Section is now fully operational and the Evening League is being tested to ensure all information updates correctly.

If you click on the Fixtures / Results link you can access the 2014 season which also includes the results of our team competitions.

My thanks go to Mike Beckett for all his help and assistance in setting up the season's information.


Please support our advertisers by giving them a call if you require any of their services.

Right click on an advert to view full size